Azure Active Directory - Users and calendar

 

Sk_rmbillede_2020-05-05_kl._10.46.33.png

This integration can synchronize your user groups in your Azure AD when a user is updated in Emply.

The integration can also sync your calendars, making it easy to convene with multiple attendees.

Usage tip

It can be a good idea to have AD groups that includes administrators, managers, employees and one for meeting rooms - in that way you can manage.

Activate Azure AD

Sk_rmbillede_2020-05-05_kl._10.48.15.png.     Sk_rmbillede_2020-05-05_kl._10.48.28.png

When you activate this with an Azure AD account, Emply entitles you to the following. 

Sk_rmbillede_2020-09-08_kl._12.08.07.png

Permissions

Sk_rmbillede_2020-08-25_kl._13.54.07.png

Sk_rmbillede_2020-08-25_kl._13.54.58.png

* You can always limit / manage the permissions for Emply enterprise application in your Microsoft Graph. 

Configure your integration

Sk_rmbillede_2020-09-04_kl._09.47.17.png

Users

You can set the integration up to administrate your Azure AD users. This allows Emply to create, update and delete users in your AD that are present in Emply also.

Create

Users will be created in Azure Active directory, at the moment new users from Emply will have to be assigned manually to a specific AD group. 

Update

Existing Emply users will after saved changes be saved in AD

Delete

At the moment this feature does not work

Sk_rmbillede_2020-09-08_kl._13.09.08.png

When activated - users will be updated in Azure AD. If synchronization fails, an error will show on the bottom of window.

Sk_rmbillede_2020-09-08_kl._12.15.02.png

Groups Choose one AD groups for which the below configuration should apply

Sk_rmbillede_2020-08-25_kl._16.52.54.png

  • Default role Set this to role to apply for your ad group
  • Default department Choose a department where you will import new AD users
  • Language sets the language of user (first time)
  • Time zone sets the timezone for a user (first time)
  • Currency sets the currency for a user (first time)

Synchronize roles let the integration set the roles of the users continuously. If off then the role is only set the first time. This should only be switched on if you have more AD groups mapped ie. one for Administrators, Managers and hiring team as roles are now manged by

Emply users with administrator role is not updated by role synchronization!

Synchronize calendars switch On / Off 

Meeting rooms Here you add meeting rooms - you may connect more AD groups

 

Sk_rmbillede_2020-05-05_kl._10.47.28.png

 

Removing the integration

In order to remove the integration completely, you have to perform 2 steps.
Prerequisite: You must sign in as a global administrator, an application administrator, or a cloud application administrator.

  1. Removing the integration in Emply will stop all synchronization between your Azure AD and Emply. Users are not synced any longer and synced Outlook events are removed in Emply calendar. You can only activate the integration again by signing in again as administrator. 
  2. Removing Emply enterprise app in Azure simply login to your portal Azure account. Find the Emply application under Enterprise applications - go to properties and delete.
    • You can find more about enterprise apps at Microsoft.com here

Sk_rmbillede_2020-10-20_kl._10.53.55.png

Q&A Azure AD Integration

1. Are users created manually, not affected by user synchronization?
  - Correct. But If a user has the same username or email then it will be automatically connected to Azure's user and will be synchronized
2. What happens if a user is added to a mapped AD group afterwards?
  - The user will be created in Emply after the next synchronization cycle
3. What happens to a synched user when it's removed from AD group?
  - They will be deactivated in Emply
4. What happens if I remove an entire AD group or Azure AD integration.
- Calendar synchronization wil stop, Outlook events will not appear in Emply after next sync., new users in connected AD groups are not created in Emply. If you have configured Emply to update your AD users, this will end.